Review of “Not By Sight”

23411528

Those of you who have been reading my blog for a while know that I have a serious love-hate relationship going on with fiction. Especially Christian fiction.

When I find a novel I love, I really love it. When I find a novel I hate, I most likely won’t finish it. But most novels I’ve read fall into the “blah” category- I might love elements, but it just didn’t work for me.

As much as I hate to say it, I felt like Kate Breslin’s Not By Sight missed the mark and fell flat for me. I was severely disappointed, as it was recommended by one of my favorite authors, but I felt like some of the storylines were overworked, and the drama was over the top.

Don’t get me wrong- I certainly didn’t hate Not By Sight. Some of the setting and storyline reminded me of Downton Abbey, and I loved how Breslin addressed faith in Not By Sight. I was thrilled with Breslin’s eloquent emphasis on the suffragette movement, and how women’s rights would impact the lives of women from every social class and background, and how women’s worth is found in being created in God’s Image. I even loved the large cast of characters, however, I never felt like I could truly invest in them.

Overall, I found great potential in Not By Sight, but thought the book could have been a good bit shorter and easier to read, as it was often repetitive, giving me the feeling that for every step forward in the story, we took two steps back. I also felt like the story dragged on, only for the ending to feel rushed.

I would have to give Not By Sight a “C”. I do hope to read more by Breslin in the future, as I believe she is capable of spinning a well-crafted tale.

You can find out more about Kate Breslin and her books here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of the book free from the publisher through Baker Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

