Goodbye, 22

Courtesy of Life Is Good

Courtesy of Life Is Good

Time goes by so quickly. It feels like just yesterday I was turning 22, but tomorrow I am going to be 23.

I am incredibly thankful for the past year. It is has been a time of great personal growth, and a year of opportunity for me. I have made new friends and new memories, I have read new books and considered new perspectives, I have discovered new interests and set new goals.

In the past year I have shaken off a heap of hurt and learned to rest in the fact that everything is going to be okay. I have shifted my focus from being brave to being fearless (they aren’t the same thing). I am learning to love the freedom that comes with casting aside the weight of others’ opinions. I have seen the beauty of new hope that springs forth only when the heart is cleared of hindrances– painful, but worth it. I have learned to own my opinions, and defend them. I have found my voice, and I refuse to be silent.

I know that in the years to come, I will look back on this year as being a major turning point for me. I have had my share of hang-ups, but it has been a fun journey, too.

Oh, and if you haven’t seen it yet, 1D’s Niall Horan sang a bit of Taylor Swift’s ’22’ a few days ago. (Can I be honest for a moment? I. WANT. THAT. ACCENT.)

I am so very glad that ya’ll have joined me on this journey. And wherever you are in the world tonight, I hope you’re feeling 22!

2 Comments

Filed under blog

2 responses to “Goodbye, 22

  1. So proud of you and how you do life! Happy birthday!

  2. Happy birthday! And here’s to a wonderful 23. 🙂

Leave a Reply

