Redemption: A Review of Anne of Green Gables, My Daughter, & Me

512-cqy+i0L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

If you have known me for any length of time, you know that I love L.M. Montgomery’s books. I have been in love with her lyrical, poetic, whimsical, and soulful writing from the first time I read Anne of Green Gables as a twelve year old girl. And while I have read many, though not all, of her works, my first true love still abides with Anne.

AOGG1-010

So when I had the opportunity to read and review Anne of Green Gables, My Daughter & Me, I was thrilled! Why would I pass up an opportunity to read a memoir written about the impact my favorite literary character had upon the life of another writer? Ah, bliss.

Anne of Green Gables, My Daughter & Me is a collection of essays written by Lorilee Cracker, recounting different lessons and experiences from her life, and how Montgomery’s redheaded dreamer taught her about life, love, and loss.

AOGG1-003

Filled with humor, and yet powerful honesty, Cracker allows readers to catch a glimpse of her own brokenness, heartbreak, and mess, and reminds us that not only is there much to be learned from our beloved Canadian redhead, but that we are all loved, and that our Savior chooses us, despite our flaws, numerous though they may be. He sees the beauty in our ashes, heaps grace upon us, and holds us in His arms.

14

Anne of Green Gables, My Daughter & Me made me laugh, but also made me want to drag out my well-loved copies of Montgomery’s books and read them again! I was particularly moved by chapter 17, A Bend in the Road. In it, Cracker discusses how it was Montgomery’s unique life that birthed our beloved Anne, and all the rest of her wonderful characters and stories, in the same way that each of the bumps, twists, crashes, and dark nights of the soul in our own lives shapes each of us. Cracker reminds the reader that God has given each of us our “own appointed way” of ministering to those around us, of drawing on our pasts and our passions to be the hands and feet of Christ for a broken world. Reminding us of Montgomery’s doubts and fears, Cracker paints a portrait of redemption, of hope, and a Heavenly Father who is here with us, forever.

kiss1

I would give Anne of Green Gables, My Daughter & Me an “A”. And if you have not yet read L.M. Montgomery’s classic Anne series, I encourage you to do so now! And if you have read the books, but never seen the films, you should– Megan Follows and Jonathan Crombie will make you fall in love with Anne and Gilbert all over again.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Tyndale Blogger Network. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

3 Comments

Filed under blog

3 responses to “Redemption: A Review of Anne of Green Gables, My Daughter, & Me

  1. I’ve been wanting to read this book, and your review makes it sound so good!

  2. Obviously, you are a kindred spirit! Thanks for you kind, encouraging words!

Leave a Reply

