Live with Grace: A Review of “For The Love”

blog_642262_2683366_1437256531

I love to laugh. I’m pretty sure that laughter is part of my DNA, and I think that is why I enjoy comedy so much. Amy Poehler, Jimmy Fallon, and Jim Gaffigan have the keys to my heart. But I’m also a deeply melancholy introvert.

And from the moment I started Jen Hatmaker’s For The Love, I knew that this woman gets me.

I laughed my butt off, cried my heart out, and my soul was touched.

Wildly hilarious, yet realistic and down-to-earth, Jen Hatmaker’s heart for Christ and passion for grace shines through on every page of For The Love. Discussing topics as varied as fashion and friendships, community and church, missions and social media, For The Love coats all of life in a heavy helping of grace, reminding readers to share the love and grace we have been given with everyone we come into contact with.

I found this passage from page 162 of For The Love to be particularly beautiful:

I study Anglican theology, read prayer books by priests, serve alongside friends from the Word and Faith movement, and secretly envy charismatics. I love the liturgy of the Presbies and can party like a Catholic… I pretty much love all of the church. Each expression is a bit of a hot mess, but bless her, she’s our mess.

I think Hatmaker’s sentiment is so refreshing, because often Christians spend more time debating why their expression of Christianity is more genuine, when really, we can all learn from each other. Because as much as I love my Presbyterian church, I’m pretty confident that in Heaven, all the truest aspects of all the faces of Christianity will come together and our worship will be finally be pure before the Lord!

Overall, I found For The Love to be a poignant and beautiful reminder of how amazing God’s Grace truly is. Although written with married women in mind, I found For The Love to be filled with wit and wisdom and would recommend to adult women of all ages and backgrounds.  I would give For The Love a “B+”.

Find out more about Jen Hatmaker, and her books.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

1 Comment

Filed under blog

One response to “Live with Grace: A Review of “For The Love”

  1. This sounds like a good read! I haven’t read any of Hatmaker’s books, but I’ve enjoyed some of her blogging.

Leave a Reply

