A Review of “A Well-Ordered Church”

a-well-ordered-church

 

As someone who has spent time in a variety of different denominations, with friends and relatives in a variety of denominations, and relatively new to the Reformed faith, I was intrigued by William Boekestein and Daniel R. Hyde’s new book, A Well- Ordered Church. 

Boekestein and Hyde’s A Well- Ordered Church is an excellent overview for lay people, as they cover the identity, authority, ecumenicity, and activity of a healthy church. I appreciated the constant reliance on the Word of God, as well as the rich use of historic confessions.

Armed with Scripture, A Well-Ordered Church fights against ideologies such as churchless Christianity or “just me and my Bible”, and remind readers of the beauty and necessity of A Well-Ordered Church in the life of every Christian. I was particularly moved by this statement in A Well-Ordered Church:

“If we are trying to be unified based on common interests, personal friendships, socio-economic status, racial grouping, or even a joint mission we are at risk of losing the right to be called a “church.” The church is unified in Christ because the church derives her identity from her union with Christ (Ephesians 2:20).”

While not perfect, and while every reader, like myself, is sure to find issues in A Well-Ordered Church, it is overall a well-written, informative, and beneficial book that I would recommend to anyone interested in a better understanding of the Reformed church. I would give A Well-Ordered Church a “B”.

You can read my review of William Boekestein’s biography on Ulrich Zwingli here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Cross Focused Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

1 Comment

Filed under blog

One response to “A Review of “A Well-Ordered Church”

  1. Pingback: A Well-Ordered Church Blog Tour | Cross Focused Reviews

Leave a Reply

