Listening to the Rabbi’s Heartbeat: A Review of “Abba’s Child”

41c8maov3bl

Those who know me know that I have authors that I love. One of my favorite authors, who has had a tremendous impact on my life is Brennan Manning.

One of his books made it into my top 21 books a few years back.

Manning’s books are filled with passion and verve, and with extensive quotes, something I love. But most of all, Manning’s work spills grace, and the love of the Savior, drawing me in, and touching my soul in a way few authors do.

When I had the opportunity recently to read and review the new edition of Abba’s Child, I was thrilled!

Abba’s Child was a balm to my soul, a sweet comfort, a reminder that I am loved deeply, completely, by the Father, by the servant-king. Is that not amazing? God knows me better than anyone ever has, or ever will, with all my flaws, with all my sin, and yet He chooses me, loves me, and wraps me in His arms, drawing me close to His heart. Such a sobering, thrilling knowledge!

And yet, Abba’s Child was more. It confronted my sinful heart, challenging me to pull off my mask. That is a hard thing.

I know I am someone who longs for approval– that is a great weakness of mine. It cuts deep when people criticize me, especially when those people are people I love.

But what I have come to realize, through reading Abba’s Child is that I cannot stay in the grief, in the pain, in the frustration, in the confusion. Those things do not make up who I am. They simply shape me in my Savior’s image, and make me more like Him.

We have been given an incredible opportunity– to love because we are loved, to give because we have received, to bless because we are blessed. And too often, we allow an impostor to rob us of fully appreciating the love of God, and rob us of our joy. It is time for the masks to come off, for our identity to be that of Abba’s Child, and nothing more.

Abba’s Child is a beautiful and timely call for Christians to become accepting and loving, like our Father, finding joy in letting go of perceptions and embracing a life centered on bringing glory to God through everyday acts of love and service to those around us. I would highly recommend Abba’s Child, and it is a book I look forward to reading many times in the future. I would give Abba’s Child an “A”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Tyndale Blog Network program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

