Review of “The Lady of Bolton Hill”

The-Lady-Of-Bolton-Hill-200x312

Image Courtesy of Elizabeth Camden

Back in January, I fell in love with Elizabeth Camden’s With Every Breathand even chose it to be the book I gave away to celebrate The Nerdy Bookworm’s second birthday! I loved With Every Breath because it met my high standards for the “ideal novel”: filled with information, a continuously moving storyline, and a vibrant female main character.

Perhaps it was because I read a large quantity of non-fiction books as a child (and continue to today), or perhaps it was because a large portion of the novels I read as a child were either mysteries,  classics like C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia and  L.M. Montgomery’s Anne, or historical fiction such as Caddie Woodlawn and Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House books, but I have often struggled to find substantial works of fiction that will hold my interest. Thus, when I do find a novel I enjoy, I try to read all of the author’s work that I can!

I was excited when I found out that my library had two of Elizabeth Camden’s other novels, one of which was The Lady of Bolton Hill. Elizabeth Camden did not disappoint!

Set in 1870s Baltimore, Maryland, The Lady of Bolton Hill tells the story of two friends, Daniel Tremain and Clara Endicott, who spring from different backgrounds, yet are united in their love of music. Daniel is a self-made industrial titan, and Clara is a forward-thinking journalist. As labor unions strike, and riots fill the streets of Baltimore, they will face some of the most difficult decisions in their lives. But is it too late to make a difference?

A fascinating read, The Lady of Bolton Hill will keep you turning pages until the very end. Overall, it was a well-crafted story, rich in history and detail, and I would highly recommend The Lady of Bolton Hill to any reader who enjoys quality fiction. I would give The Lady of Bolton Hill an “A”.

Well done, once again, Elizabeth Camden!

You can find out more about Elizabeth Camden here. You can view all of her novels here.

3 Comments

Filed under blog

3 responses to “Review of “The Lady of Bolton Hill”

  1. Pingback: Review of “Against the Tide” | the nerdy bookworm

  2. Pingback: A Look Back at 2015 | the nerdy bookworm

  3. Pingback: Until the Dawn: A Review | the nerdy bookworm

Leave a Reply

