Bitesize Biographies: Ulrich Zwingli

zwingli

As a relatively new member of the Reformed faith, I was anxious to read William Boekestein’s new installment in the Bitesize Biographies series, Ulrich Zwingli. 

I must admit, that while I have read about the life of Calvin, my knowledge of Ulrich Zwingli, the reformer, was not extensive. I knew that he was Swiss, and was a contemporary of Luther, and that was about the extent of my familiarity with him.

And while I found Ulrich Zwingli to be a thorough look at the life and times of Zwingli, it was not what I was expecting. Being unfamiliar with the Bitesize Biographies series, I was expecting a quick, light overview of the life of Zwingli. That is not what Boekestein’s book was– rather, I found it intense despite the small size (only 163 pages). I would have appreciated a timeline and map of Switzerland and surrounding areas, as that would have been a helpful aid while reading Ulrich Zwingli. 

Overall, I was a bit overwhelmed with the information presented, and underwhelmed by the presentation in Boekestein’s Ulrich Zwingli. I would have to give the book a “B”.

I look forward to reading more in the Bitesize Biographies series, particularly Augustus Toplady, Girolamo Savonarola, and Renée of France. See more titles in the Bitesize Biographies series here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Cross Focused Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

1 Comment

Filed under blog

One response to “Bitesize Biographies: Ulrich Zwingli

  1. Pingback: Bitesize Biographies Ulrich Zwingli Blog Tour | Cross Focused Reviews

Leave a Reply

