Review of “After A Fashion”

Image courtesy of Jen Turano

Image courtesy of Jen Turano

When I first read the description of Jen Turano’s new novel, After A Fashion, I was intrigued, as it sounded like a romantic comedy, in the vein of Roman Holiday or My Best Friend’s Wedding

Harriet Peabody is hat maker with big dreams and a checkered past. Oliver Addleshaw is a wealthy businessman whose only goal is to amass more fortune than Cornelius Vanderbilt, even if that means working with shady men. But when the two of them are thrown together in the strangest twist of events, they strike up an unusual partnership. But questions abound: will Harriet’s unfortunate past ruin her? will Oliver’s poor business relationships cost him his reputation? will Harriet and Oliver’s business relationship become a romantic one?

I must admit, that while my expectations for After A Fashion were high, I felt the book fell a bit flat. Part Pride and Prejudicepart The Inheritanceand part Millie Keiththere were moments in After A Fashion that gave me an idea of what could have been, but it just never quite came together for me. I found that the high points of After A Fashion were overwhelmed by the mind-numbing descriptions of attraction between Harriet and Oliver, and the over-the-top romantic elements.

Overall, while portions of After A Fashion were quite enjoyable and hilarious, I found the main characters to be a disappointment, and I did not enjoy the story nearly as much as I had hoped. I must admit I plan to read the second book in the series, which comes out later this year, as it is about my two favorite characters in After A Fashion! But I would have to give After A Fashion a “C”.

Find out more about Jen Turano and her books here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Bethany House Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

