Review of “Living Without Worry”

LivingWithoutWorry-195x300

 

Living Without Worry. What a title for a book! As someone who is prone to worry, my attention was captured from the moment I first read the title.

In Living Without Worry, Timothy Lane, a Presbyterian (PCA) minister and author, encourages us to stop and reflect on our lives, asking ourselves difficult questions: what is worry? why worry? what do we ‘over-love’? Offering hope for those who feel burdened by worry, and those struggling with an anxiety disorder such as PTSD or OCD, Lane gives practical suggestions for overcoming worry and embracing joy in the Christian life.

I found Lane’s discussion of topics such as meditation, grace, and identifying your fears and triggers in Living Without Worry to be immensely helpful. For me, my worry is often rooted in ‘over-love’ of the opinions of those I care about. And that has caused me to oftentimes strive for conformity rather than authenticity, often resulting in misery and stress, because my focus was on pleasing people, rather than on bringing glory to God, and enjoying Him.Our God is greater than our fears! We cannot allow others, or our situation, to control us.

Living Without Worry was an easy read, yet beneficial for the everyday Christian. Firmly rooted in Scripture, with an emphasis on God’s Grace, I believe the perspective offered in Living Without Worry can be summed up well by the U2 quote found in chapter seven: “Grace makes beauty out of ugly things.”  I highly recommend Living Without Worry, and would give it an “A”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Cross Focused Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

1 Comment

Filed under blog

One response to “Review of “Living Without Worry”

  1. Pingback: Living Without Worry Blog Tour | Cross Focused Reviews

Leave a Reply

