Review of “Inside the Criminal Mind”

itcm

I have a confession to make– I am a huge fan of the show, Criminal Minds. I have a weakness for both legal and medical procedurals (ok, if I’m honest I have a weakness for Friends and Full House, too), and I am fascinated by the psychological undertones of Criminal Minds. So you can imagine how excited I was when I had the opportunity to read and review Inside the Criminal Mind  by Stanton E. Samenow, Ph.D.

Revised and expanded for a thirtieth anniversary edition, Inside the Criminal Mind is a scholarly work, yet is easily understood by the interested layperson. While certainly not for the faint of heart, due to descriptions of criminal activity and strong language, including the “f-bomb”, those interested in psychology or criminal justice will find Inside the Criminal Mind to be both fascinating and insightful.

After reading Inside the Criminal Mind, I am left with a heightened sense of gratitude for those who work in the fields of criminal justice and psychology, and also a deeper understanding of the depravity of man (Jeremiah 17:9).

I also must point out that while Samenow does not write from the perspective of someone who approaches all of life through the lens of Scripture, he came to some shockingly accurate conclusions, such as: we are not victims of our environment (p. xii, Proverbs 14:12) or circumstances beyond our control (p. 3, James 1:2-4); drugs and alcohol do not change our nature, but simply magnifies it (p.176, Matthew 6:21); the myth of the “out of character” crime (p.235, Proverbs 4:23); the importance of watching our thoughts, and never buying into the idea of “having it made” (p.322, 2 Corinthians 10:5, 1 Corinthians 10:12, Galatians 6:1); and recognizing the fact that “we are as we think” (p.330, Proverbs 23:7, Romans 12:2,Ephesians 4:23-24).

Overall, I found Inside the Criminal Mind to be a wonderful book, and would recommend it to mature readers with an interest in criminal psychology. I would give Inside the Criminal Mind a “B”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Blogging for Books Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

