Review of “For the Joy Set Before Us”

ForTheJoyLargeFront-200x300

Since I was a young child, I have enjoyed reading the stories of missionaries, and often thought of becoming a missionary, even going through a time where I slept on the floor in order to prepare myself for a life of missionary service. Obviously that didn’t last, but my love for missions, and deep appreciation for those working on the mission field has never left me.

Unfortunately, Erica Fye’s For the Joy Set Before Us was a bit underwhelming. Far from being the next Kisses from KatieI found For the Joy Set Before Us to be a slow read, and I found the book, though small, to be disjointed and frustrating to read, often leaving me with the feeling that it was a hastily thrown-together edition of personal reflections better suited for a blog than a book.

While there were numerous points in the book that I found beneficial and well-written, I finished For the Joy Set Before Us feeling disappointed. And while I am deeply grateful for Fye’s selfless and necessary work in Uganda, I can only give For the Joy Set Before Us a “C+”.

Disclosure of Material: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through the BookCrash.com book review program, which requires an honest, though not necessarily positive, review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s CFR Title 16, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

