Review of “Acts: EP Study Commentary”

acts-by-guy-waters

 

If you came to my house, you would see that I have a weakness for commentaries– on my shelves you would find commentaries by John Calvin, Matthew Henry, John Gill, and James Montgomery Boice, among others.

So when I had the opportunity to review Acts, an EP Study Commentary written by Guy Prentiss Waters, who is a professor at Reformed Theological Seminary in Jackson, Mississippi (my home state), I jumped at the chance!

And I was not disappointed.

Weighing in at more than 600 pages, Waters’ commentary on the book of Acts might at first seem daunting, but do not let the size deter you! Waters’ Acts finds a wonderful middle ground between scholarly and approachable, making it perfect for both the lay reader and pastor. Written in a way that is easily understood, Acts also gives readers the benefit of footnotes, though not in an overwhelming quantity.

Ideal for those who adhere to the Reformed or Presbyterian set of beliefs as set forth by the Westminster Standards, all Christians will find benefit in Waters’ commentary on Acts, although those who are not of a Reformed background will, of course, find points on which they will disagree with Waters’ commentary.

I often found myself feeling that I was reading transcripts of sermons, as Waters’ style of commentating is exegetical, following a pattern much like my pastor’s sermons: opening notes that help connect the text to what we have previously read and studied, the reading of the text, the explanation of the text, and the application of the text.

I found Acts to be a beneficial read, and look forward to using it in times of personal Bible study. I would give Waters’ commentary on Acts an “A”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Cross Focused Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

1 Comment

Filed under blog

One response to “Review of “Acts: EP Study Commentary”

  1. Pingback: EP Study Commentary Acts Blog Tour | Cross Focused Reviews

Leave a Reply

