Review of “unPlanned”

cover_book

Image courtesy of of Abby Johnson

Several years back, while at a film festival, I had the opportunity to watch a documentary about an amazing woman, Abby Johnson, who was a former Planned Parenthood director. I was deeply moved by the film, and began following Johnson’s Facebook page, but I never got around to reading her book, unPlanned. 

But then I got an email from Tyndale offering me the opportunity to read and review the updated version of unPlanned, complete with a new chapter due to updates to the story. 

While I was familiar with parts of Johnson’s story, I never expected what I read in unPlanned. Sharing her story from naive Texas A & M student to Planned Parenthood volunteer, from her career at Planned Parenthood to her lawsuit with Planned Parenthood, Johnson gives a raw, tender, and devastatingly honest view of life inside a Planned Parenthood clinic.

While reading unPlanned, there were moments when I was moved to tears, something that rarely happens when I read nonfiction. unPlanned touched my heart, and changed how I view those on both sides of the abortion debate, causing me to recognize the common thread amongst us all: our humanity.

Expect to be changed by unPlanned, because regardless of your beliefs about abortion, your views will be challenged, your heart will be broken, and you will never see the issue the same way. I would give unPlanned an “A”.

You can read the first chapter of unPlanned for free here.

You can find out more about Abby Johnson here. Find out how to support her organization, And Then There Were None here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Tyndale Blogger Network. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

