Review of “Murder at the Mikado”

MikadoCoverFit

Image courtesy of Julianna Deering.

Earlier this week I began a series of reviews on Julianna Deering’s Drew Farthering Mysteries. If you want to read my reviews on the previous books in the series, you can find them here and here.

I must admit, finishing Murder at the Mikado meant that I had read more fiction in January 2015 then I did in all of 2014. However, I have enjoyed it. It is nice sometimes to have a good novel to read– even better if it is a thrilling murder mystery!

Honestly, I was a bit underwhelmed with the first book of the series, but I felt very hopeful after the second book. I can say now that Murder at the Mikado, the third, and latest, book in the series, did not disappoint! Full of suspense, intrigue, and secrets, it held my attention until the very end, and lacked the things that irritated me in the earlier books of the series.

Set in late 1932, Drew and Madeline’s wedding preparations are under way, and they have settled into a happy life in Farthering St. John with Aunt Ruth. But when a secret from Drew’s past is revealed, it threatens to destroy their future. Can Drew, Madeline, and Nick unravel the mystery before all is lost? And will Drew and Madeline make it to the altar?

 A little tidbit for lovers of the 1961 Disney film, The Parent Trap: remember when Miss Inch punishes the girls for their unladylike behavior? She quotes Gilbert and Sullivan’s opera, The Mikado, saying, “let the punishment fit the crime”. As you can guess, the title of that opera is the source of part of the title of Deering’s book. Look for several Gilbert and Sullivan operas to be referenced in Murder at the Mikado.

My favorite of the Drew Farthering Mysteries so far, Murder at the Mikado is a thrilling mystery sure to please, and I would highly recommend it! I would give Murder at the Mikado an “A”.

You can find out more about Julianna Deering and her mysteries here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of the book free from the publisher through Baker Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

