Review of “With Every Breath”

9780764211744

While I love a good novel, I struggle to find a well-written, clean, and intriguing novel. Of the seventy-nine books I read last year, only four were novels.

What can I say? After you’ve read classics like To Kill a Mockingbird and L.M. Montgomery’s Anne books, it’s hard to read bland fiction.

Elizabeth Camden’s With Every Breath is certainly not bland or boring.

Set in 1891 Washington D.C.,  Kate Livingston is a lively, brilliant, redheaded statistician. When she receives a mysterious request to interview for a job at Washington Memorial Hospital, Kate is launched on a journey filled with past rivalries, death threats, and medical research on one of the most deadly diseases of the time.

As Kate struggles to come to grips with her faith and the brevity of life, she is confronted with her lack of faith, the finitude of humanity, and the Sovereignty of God (Proverbs 3:5, Psalm 103:15-16, Proverbs 16:9).

Overall, With Every Breath is a wonderful and fascinating novel that I will be reading again, and would highly recommend. I would give With Every Breath an “A”.

You can find out more about Elizabeth Camden and her other books here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of the book free from the publisher through Baker Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

7 Comments

Filed under blog

7 responses to “Review of “With Every Breath”

  1. I’m adding this to my wishlist! …the after I finish the pile on my desk wishlist… LOL Great Review!

  2. I also find good novels hard to find. Thanks for the recommendation!

  3. Pingback: C E L E B R A T E (and a Giveaway!) | the nerdy bookworm

  4. Pingback: Review of “The Lady of Bolton Hill” | the nerdy bookworm

  5. Pingback: Review of “Against the Tide” | the nerdy bookworm

  6. Pingback: A Look Back at 2015 | the nerdy bookworm

  7. Pingback: Until the Dawn: A Review | the nerdy bookworm

Leave a Reply

