Review of “Truth Be Told”

51AGZmaOvQL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Since I was a child, I have a had a deep love for mysteries. I grew up devouring series like Mandie, The Lily Adventures, and eventually, The Hardy Boys.

I was excited to have the opportunity to read and review a mystery novel by Carol Cox, Truth Be Told. Set in Arizona in the late 1800s, Truth Be Told is filled with mystery, murder, and a little bit of romance.

When Amelia Wagner inherits her father’s newspaper, she is determined to honor his legacy of reporting the truth. But what is the truth? Why are people disappearing? And is her new friend, Ben Stone, involved? Can Amelia solve the mystery before more people are hurt?

Filled with references to God, Scripture, and the call of Christians to ever be mindful of John 8:32, I appreciated the author pointing out that while all Christians are called serve God, that doesn’t mean we are all called to be pastors or missionaries. We can serve God wherever we are, doing all for His Glory (1 Corinthians 10:31).

I did, however, feel that the author did not appropriately handle the recurring theme of alcohol consumption. While rightfully condemning drunkenness, Truth Be Told went further, seemingly embracing the viewpoint of the Temperance movement, which contrary to Scripture, condemned all consumption of alcohol.

Overall, Truth Be Told was an intriguing mystery, one which I am sure lovers of mystery will enjoy. I look forward to reading more of Cox’s mysteries in the future. I would give Truth Be Told a “B”.

You can find out more about Carol Cox and her other books here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of the book free from the publisher through Baker Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

