Review of “Christian Bioethics”

9781433671142

I will be the first to admit that I have a weakness for reading and researching medical and scientific topics, and I knew I that I would be fascinated with Christian Bioethics: A Guide for Pastors, Health Care Professionals, and Families! 

A collaborative work authored by a minister with a Ph.D. in medical ethics and a physician, Christian Bioethics evaluates a variety of healthcare practices, dividing the book into four distinct parts: 1) Christian Bioethics, which examines the origins of the healthcare profession as we know it, and the history of medicine; 2) Taking Life, which addresses both abortion and euthanasia; 3) Making Life, which discusses infertility, IVF, surrogacy, organ donation and transplantation, and cloning; and finally, 4) Remaking/Faking Life, which looks at the future of life in a biotechnological age, where cryonics, robotics, and genetic engineering are very real issues that we will have to face.

Written in a dialogue-style format, Christian Bioethics is an excellent introduction to the realities we must face at the intersection of ethics, faith, medicine, and scientific advances in the modern age. It is time that we realize that there are serious issues that need to be addressed, which very well might affect the trajectory of future generations.

Even-handed and biblically-grounded, Christian Bioethics is a wonderful resource, a book that we as a culture desperately need. I firmly believe it would be immensely helpful if every Christian working in healthcare, or better yet, every Christian family, read Christian Bioethics.

My only concerns were these: one author seemingly compared the “convenience” of euthanizing her dog to Physician-Assisted Suicide (p.98), and later in the book, the other author lumps Jehovah’s Witnesses with Catholics and Baptists when discussing Christianity (p.145).

Overall, I found Christian Bioethics to a well-reasoned and well-researched book that I would highly recommend. I would give Christian Bioethics a “B+”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of the book free from the publisher through Cross Focused Reviews. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

1 Comment

Filed under blog

One response to “Review of “Christian Bioethics”

  1. Pingback: A Look Back at 2015 | the nerdy bookworm

Leave a Reply

