Review of “Homemade Decadence”

joythebaker-e1400001279139

It was sometime around late 2011 that I first discovered Joy Wilson, aka Joy the Baker. How I came across her incredible site, I don’t remember, but what matters is that I have never forgotten her and recipes! The very first recipe I ever tried of Joy’s was her Angel Food Cake. Once you try it, you’ll never go back to the pitiful excuse of store-bought angel food cake!

I received her first cookbook as a gift back in 2012, and have loved it, so I was excited to hear about her second cookbook, Homemade Decadence

When Homemade Decadence arrived, I simply sat and admired all the gorgeous photographs and tried to narrow down which recipes I wanted to try. Good luck with that! I want to try them all.

So far, I have made the Dirty Chai Lattes, Confetti Cookies, and Raspberry-Cream Cheese Brownies. All delicious! The only request I received was to skip the fresh raspberries on top of the brownies next time, because they were tart, but that could be since they aren’t in season…

I still have many, many recipes I want to try from Homemade Decadence, and look forward to getting in the kitchen with Joy the Baker’s cookbooks for years to come. Overall, I would give Homemade Decadence an “A+”, as it is more than a cookbook, but rather a celebration of stunning photography, humor, and all things baked.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

2 Comments

Filed under blog

2 responses to “Review of “Homemade Decadence”

  1. Wow! Judging from the picture of that cake, I’d say it’s a win! I’ll have to check it out!

Leave a Reply

