Review of “Every Bitter Thing is Sweet”

51f2CkIM34L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I am so thankful to have the incredible opportunity to review numerous books each month on a variety of subjects, and share those reviews with you. But every so often, there is a book that sticks with you. A book that touches your soul, deeply.

Every Bitter Thing is Sweet is one of those books.

In Every Bitter Thing is Sweet, blogger and mommy Sara Hagerty invites you on a journey to taste the goodness of God in all things. 

Is God good all the time? Is God good to me?

These are questions that Hagerty must ask herself as she struggles through a tumultuous marriage, infertility, and the death of a loved one. And while perhaps those struggles aren’t mirrored in your life, or my life, we can all think of times when our hearts are breaking, when we just can’t understand the pain, when we just want out.

As I journeyed with Hagerty through Every Bitter Thing is Sweet, I was reminded again and again, to move past the bitterness, because life will never go the way you think it will, and to rather embrace the joy in the now, and praise the Savior for who He is, and what He has done for me, for all of us.

Because sometimes God uses pain to open our eyes, to reveal more of Himself to us, to wipe away our false view of Him, to remind us that it is never our circumstances that shape us, but Him.

Overall, I found Every Bitter Thing is Sweet to be a powerful and touching reminder of how desperately I need to continually cry out, More of You, God! Every.Single.Day. I would highly recommend it to anyone, man or woman, teen or adult, who is struggling to understand the goodness of God, and how that relates to me. I would give Every Bitter Thing is Sweet an “A+”.

If you are interested in purchasing a copy, or reading the first chapter for free, you can find it here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

