Review of “The First Christmas”

TFC-Front-cover-e-600-300x300

The First Christmas by Janice D. Green, illustrated by Violet Vandor

ISBN 978-0-9836808-2-6

The First Christmas is a retelling of the birth of Christ, specifically written with children in mind. I loved the illustrations, which were beautiful and unique, in that they appear to have been colored with crayons, something I have never seen before. I must admit, however, that I found the writing style of The First Christmas to be unusual. It seems more ideal for experienced readers, rather than the young children the illustrations would most likely captivate. Also, after reading The First Christmas, I felt it was a bit disjointed, as each portion of the story is presented in tandem with several contemplative questions.

Overall, I found The First Christmas to be a cute book for elementary school children. I would give The First Christmas a “B-“.

If you are interested in purchasing a copy of The First Christmas to share with your family this holiday season, it is available from Amazon, or through the author at Honeycomb Adventures Press. For those of you who are interested in crafts, be sure to visit the author’s site, Bible Quilts. I was impressed by her beautiful quilts inspired by Scripture!

Disclosure of Material: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through the BookCrash.com book review program, which requires an honest, though not necessarily positive, review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s CFR Title 16, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

