Review of “The Sacred Year”

_240_360_Book.1334.cover

In a typical week, I often read a couple of books, and since I have begun reviewing books for publishers, I have a steady stream of books that flow onto my desk, into my reading stack, and through my brain. A good portion of the books that I read, I will never read again, some I will not even keep.

But The Sacred Year is one of those that I expect to read over again, and will give to others.

Michael Yankoski is one of those writers who, like Ann Voskamp, touches your soul. In The Sacred Year, Yankoski shares with us a year-long journey in which he learns to develop and crave a deeper relationship with self, God, and others, by embracing spiritual practices such as Lectio Divina, Daily Examen, and Gratitude, by recognizing our mortality, and enjoying the moments we are given.

Written with an eye towards Heaven, and feet firmly planted on earth, The Sacred Year will inspire and change you, making you more aware of the beauty and heartbreak that surrounds us. I would highly recommend The Sacred Year, and give it an “A+”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

1 Comment

Filed under blog

One response to “Review of “The Sacred Year”

  1. I really liked your review, I a, currently reading a sacred hear now I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

