Review of “Beside Bethesda”

productimage-picture-beside-bethesda-536_jpeg_800x9999_q85

 

Joni Eareckson Tada is one of those people who absolutely inspire me, and encourage me in my walk with Christ. However, I had only read one of her books (years ago), but since one of my best friends, Kirsten, is both very passionate and involved with Joni and Friends camps every year, I decided to jump at the opportunity of reading and reviewing Beside Bethesda. 

And I am so thankful that I did! Beside Bethesda is a 31 day devotional designed to encourage Christians in their walk with Christ, and it couldn’t have come at a better time for me.

Those of you who know me, know that I have severe allergies which result in me sometimes having days of hives, swelling, and all-around uncomfortableness. Now understand, I am not saying that I have any idea what it is like to be a quadriplegic, or to live in chronic, debilitating pain like so many do– but one thing that I have come to realize in my twenty-two years is that because of the fall (Genesis 3:1-19), we all have pain in our lives.

Perhaps your pain comes in seasonal allergies, or back pain, the loss of a limb or a learning disability, the loss of a child or arthritis. But however it comes, it is real, and it is painful.

Beside Bethesda encourages us to focus on Christ, to meditate on Scripture, and to live fully right now, right where God has us.

I found Beside Bethesda to be a beautiful reminder that God is in control, and that physical healing was not God’s ultimate goal in sending His Son– it was our Spiritual, eternal healing. I would highly recommend Beside Bethesda, and give it an “A”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Tyndale Blog Network. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

