Review of “Let’s All Be Brave”

image

 

Earlier this year I enjoyed reading and reviewing Annie Downs’ first book, Perfectly Unique So when I read that Annie was writing a book on being the brave person God created you to be, I was excited.

Some of you who know me well know that I am not a brave person. I struggle daily with being a people-pleaser, battling my natural tendency to be consumed with making sure those around me are happy, suffocating in the little boxes I try to squish myself into, just to make sure other people like me.

In an effort to grow in 2014, in an attempt to shake off the opinions of others and embrace who I am, I chose Brave as my ‘word of the year’.

But I don’t think I’m alone in this struggle. Just look at pop culture right now– if the films we watch, the music we listen to, and the books we read are any reflection of our personal lives, I would say the majority of people (girls and women, in particular) face this issue of being brave. We are a culture being inundated with the message that we can be brave. 

Our heroines, from Katniss Everdeen to Tris Prior, know what it is like to struggle to choose to be brave. Our favorite singers, from Sara Bareilles and Moriah Peters to Hunter Hayes and Taylor Swift, belt out tunes that let us know we aren’t alone in this struggle to embrace who we are designed to be.

And Annie Downs knows what it is like, too.

In Let’s All be Brave, Annie shares deeply personal stories of how her life has been riddled with doubt and fear, lacking bravery. But Annie does more than just tell us to be brave. In her outrageously humorous way, she makes us feel as though we are drinking lattes together in a downtown coffee shop, a safe place where we can acknowledge together that no, we aren’t brave, but God created us to be vibrant individuals, living life fully, taking risks for the glory of God.

More than a pep talk, Let’s All Be Brave is a reminder that God didn’t give us a spirit of fear (2 Timothy 1:7), but that he designed each of us with unique talents and passions, and that it is our job to use them wisely. Encouraging us to believe not in ourselves, but in the One who made us, Let’s All Be Brave will make you laugh and cry. Overall, I found Let’s All Be Brave to be an excellent and easy read  that I would highly recommend, and I would give it an “A”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

2 Comments

Filed under blog

2 responses to “Review of “Let’s All Be Brave”

  1. Pingback: Be Brave… and other random thoughts | the nerdy bookworm

  2. Pingback: Goodbye 2014, Hello 2015! | the nerdy bookworm

Leave a Reply

