Review of “Down South”

downsouthbook

 

I believe it was the cover of Donald Link’s Down South that first caught my eye as I chose which book to review next. As someone born and raised in the Deep South, I have a great love for seafood, and if I had any doubts, the tagline sealed the deal: “Bourbon, Pork, Gulf Shrimp & Second Helpings of Everything”. It just doesn’t get any better than that!

From the very first page of Down South, I was in love.

Filled with unique twists on Southern staples such as Blue Crab Beignets, Tamales, Greens, and Mississippi Mud Pie, Down South will make your mouth water. But Down South is more than a recipe book. It is a window into Southern culture at its finest, complete with stunning images and hilarious vignettes.

Down South is ideal for those who love the beauty and delectability of Southern culture and cuisine, whether they still reside in Dixie or not, and would be a splendid introduction for those who are curious about Southern food ways.

I enjoyed cooking several of the recipes in Down South, and they turned out wonderful! The Southern Bruschetta was a family favorite, and the horseradish sauce was so delicious, I will never buy it pre made again.

While there was a sprinkling of foul language, Down South expertly captured what it is to live in, and love, the South. I would give Down South a “B+”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Blogging for Books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s  16 CFR,  part 255.

 

2 Comments

Filed under blog

2 responses to “Review of “Down South”

  1. Pingback: Giveaway! | the nerdy bookworm

  2. Pingback: Embrace Adventure  | the nerdy bookworm

Leave a Reply

