Review of “I Like Giving”

ilikegiving

 

Brad Formsma’s I Like Giving is a celebration of people giving and finding joy. Filled with stories from those who have given, and those who have received, I Like Giving encourages people to practice giving everyday, making it a lifestyle, and shares tips on how to share the joy of giving with your friends and family.

Throughout I Like Giving, I found myself inspired by the amazing and simple stories of people from all over the world who have learned to be generous with their money and lives. Yet I was also challenged to stop and think about how I might better give, and encourage giving in my home and community. It doesn’t have to be expensive– it can be as simple as taking a meal to a sick family, buying clothes for house-fire victims, sponsoring a child, supporting a missionary, or listening to the elderly tell stories.

My only concern with I Like Giving is that, while the author is a Christian and references God on occasion, the book does not point readers to Christ as the one who motivates us to give. While giving just for the pleasure of it is good, we are to glorify God in all things, and I found I Like Giving to be lacking an emphasis on why we should give. In Scripture, we find that God loves a cheerful giver, someone who gives out of love, because we have been given so much, giving always for the glory of God (2 Corinthians 9:6-8, 1 John 4:19, Ephesians 2:4-9, Deuteronomy 15:10, Deuteronomy 16:17, Proverbs 21:26, Luke 6:38, James 2:15-16, Matthew 25:40).

Overall, I found I Like Giving to be an inspiring and encouraging, yet flawed book. I would give I Like Giving a “C”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Waterbrook Multnomah Blogging for Books Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

