Review of “All In”

AllIn1

 

Several years ago, at an ATI conference, I heard Bill Gothard give a talk on why we should live our lives in “Total Surrender” to Christ. Lost in a sea of navy and white, I stood along with every other youth and prayed, “surrendering” my life completely to God’s Will. The problem was that I did not have a good understanding of what it means to live in “Total Surrender”, and my understanding of God’s Will for my life was blurry, at best.

So as I was scrolling through the books Moody Press offered me for review, Mike Guzzardo‘s All In: Finding True Life on the Path to Total Surrender, I was intrigued. Could this man I had never heard of shed more light on living in total surrender?

All In, written for teenage readers, encourages Christians to embrace the freedom and transformation God works in our lives, and rejoice in whatever circumstances God has us. Explaining how living in total surrender is a daily choice to obey the commandments of God found in Scripture, All In encourages Christians to do what God has called them to do– bring glory to God in all that they do.

Not a perfect book, All In has a strong emphasis on “meeting Jesus” and “choosing to follow”, rather than acknowledging that it is God who calls and saves us by His Grace (2 Timothy 1:9; Romans 8:29-30; John 6:44; Ephesians 2:8-9; Psalm 3:8). I also found the first chapter to be a bit slow and repetitive, though the rest of the book was an easy read. All In was a helpful book, filled with Scripture and personal stories, and I would recommend it for teenage readers. I would give All In a “C”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Moody Publishers Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

