Review of “Packing Light”

packing light

 

I am still not sure if it was the title, the cover, or the description of Allison Vesterfelt’s Packing Light that attracted me. Perhaps it was all three.

From the very first chapter of Packing Light, I felt as though I was sitting across from Allison in a coffee shop, hearing her pour out her heart.

As I read Packing Light, I found myself laughing, crying, and nodding my head in agreement.

Packing Light is a reminder of how easy it is to get tangled in this messy, curious web that binds us and burdens us down– am I “Christian” enough? what does it mean to be a “Christian” writer, singer, or shoemaker? how do I pursue my dreams and passions, while being a good reflection of my Savior? can Christians drink? or dance? or have tattoos?  is Taylor Swift holy enough for Christians to listen to?

Allison, in her beautiful and soulful way, shares in Packing Light how she and her friend Sharaya set out on a six-month journey to visit all 50 states, and they came back changed. Allison learned how to live with less; let go of material and emotional baggage; chase her dreams; and stop being a wallflower, and begin being who God created her to be.

A powerful true story of how a six month journey changed a life, Packing Light will encourage you to live fully in the now, leaving the baggage behind. I would give Packing Light an “A+”. Find out more about Allison here.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Moody Publishers Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

2 Comments

Filed under blog

2 responses to “Review of “Packing Light”

  1. Pingback: Goodbye 2014, Hello 2015! | the nerdy bookworm

  2. I enjoyed reading Packing Light. It reminded me of how very little we really need, and how He truly provides for all our NEEDS.

Leave a Reply

