Review of “Memorial: The Mystery of Mary of Bethany”

Memorial-The-Mystery-of-Mary-of-Bethany-196x300

Mary of Bethany has always been one of my favorite people in Scripture. As a people-pleaser, I find it inspiring when I read about Mary in Luke chapter 10-“you are anxious and troubled about many things,but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

I greatly anticipated reading Dolores Kimball’s Memorial: The Mystery of Mary of Bethany. And while there were definitely some aspects of the story of Mary of Bethany that Kimball brought into focus which I had not seen before, I must admit I came away feeling disappointed.

I found Kimball’s writing to be dry and tiresome, and I felt as though she spent a large portion of the book repeating herself. The effect was both dizzying and monotonous.

I believe the best use of Memorial: The Mystery of Mary of Bethany would be in a women’s bible study, where it can be read and discussed in small portions, relieving some of the effects of the circuitous writing style. I would give Memorial a “C”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Cross Focused Reviews Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

1 Comment

Filed under blog

One response to “Review of “Memorial: The Mystery of Mary of Bethany”

  1. Pingback: Memorial: The Mystery of Mary of Bethany Book Blog Tour | Cross Focused Reviews

Leave a Reply

