Review of “When We Were On Fire”

9781601425454

 

When I first read the blurb for Addie Zierman’s  book, When We Were On Fire, I knew I needed to read it.

I grew up in very conservative evangelical circles, and I could relate so well to much of Addie’s story, from the WWJD bracelets to home churches.

As I read When We Were On Fire, I laughed. And I cried. Because I could feel Addie’s joy, pain, and confusion– I know all too well what it feels like to be on both the giving and receiving ends of legalism.

I have to applaud Addie for her beautiful honesty in When We Were On Fire. In this powerful memoir, she does not shy away from pointing out the inconsistencies and damaging philosophies among Evangelicals, yet that does not prevent her from recognizing that grace transforms, and beauty can rise from the ashes of a painful past.

A master storyteller, Addie Zierman spins a story in When We Were On Fire that is completely relatable and comforting, yet convicting. While powerful, it is, however, not perfect.

I have to disagree with Addie’s “outrage” at not being offered the opportunity to preach during her time in China (see page 127). Scripture is quite clear that it is men who are to preach and be in leadership of the church (1 Timothy 3:1-13; Titus 1:5-9).

I also must point out that while I personally was blessed by Addie’s memoir, and found it a very enjoyable read, it is for mature audiences. Alcohol abuse and skinny dipping are discussed, and the “f-bomb” is used about a half-dozen times in the last hundred pages.

Due to the language in When We Were On Fire, I would have to give it a “C+”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Waterbrook Multnomah Blogging for Books Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

2 Comments

Filed under blog

2 responses to “Review of “When We Were On Fire”

  1. Pingback: Review of “Girl at the End of the World” | the nerdy bookworm

  2. Pingback: Goodbye 2014, Hello 2015! | the nerdy bookworm

Leave a Reply

