Review of “Echoes of an Angel”

978-1-4143-8622-5-echoes-of-angels-246x370

 

Several years ago, a friend told me the story of a young boy who had lost both eyes, but was able to lead an amazing life due to the fact that he had developed the ability to “see” through echolocation. I was amazed, and the story has never left me.

I was so surprised when I had the opportunity to read and review Echoes of an Angel, the true story of Benjamin Underwood, the young man my friend had told me about those years ago! To say I was thrilled to know more about the story behind the boy with amazing echolocation skills would be an understatement.

From the very first page of Echoes of an Angel, I was touched. The story that Ben’s mother, Aquanetta Gordon, told was at once full of joy and heartbreak.

Born the fourth child of an unwed mother in California, Ben grew up in government housing on welfare, in a home filled with struggles, sadness, and great love.

When Ben was diagnosed with bilateral retinoblastoma, a rapidly developing cancer, at the age of two, his life was changed forever. After chemotherapy and enucleation of both eyes, Ben began “clicking”. Much to his family’s surprise, Ben had the ability to use echolocation to do what sighted children do: run, climb trees, ride bikes, skateboard, and even surf!

I was deeply touched by Echoes of an Angel, and the powerful story it told, of how God never leaves us, but is faithful, working in every detail of our lives, no matter how dark or painful the moment we are in. However, I must admit that I was uncomfortable with a recurring dream described in the book that referenced a conversation with Ben following his death. We as Christians must be very careful with what we believe concerning dreams, visions, and communication with the dead, and we see that God does not approve of communication with the dead (1 Samuel 28:15-19; 1 Chronicles 10:13-14; Luke 16:27-31).

Overall, I found Echoes of an Angel to be a beautiful and inspiring story of God’s faithfulness in one boy’s life, and would give it a “B”.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Tyndale Blog Network program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

 

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

