Review of “Spoken For”

20140310-143053

 

I first became familiar with Jefferson and Alyssa Bethke when Jeff’s  book, Jesus > Religion first came out. Unfortunately, I haven’t gotten around to reading it, but I did recently read an ARC of Spoken For, the book Alyssa co-wrote with Robin Jones Gunn, author of the Christy Miller series.

Perfect for a Bible Study, complete with study questions at the end of each chapter, Bethke and Gunn each tell personal stories about a common theme. Spoken For is a beautiful book that encourages girls to embrace who they are, and whose they are.

As they use Scripture and personal insight to explain how God loves us, Bethke and Gunn share keys to letting go and leaving behind all the lies that paralyze us and break our hearts. Spoken For feels like a chat with a dear friend and wise mentor all at once.

I found a very needed reminder in the pages of Spoken For: love is about more than how we feel. Even when we feel betrayed, unwanted, and brokenhearted, we can rest in the knowledge that not only did God choose and call us, He loves us deeply. And His love is far greater than human love. He will never leave us for someone else, He will never unfriend us, He will never lie to us. We do not have to earn His Love, and we never could– He simply loves us because we are His.

I thoroughly enjoyed Spoken For. It is a book I will read many times in the future, and look forward to sharing with friends. I would give Spoken For an “A+”.

You can preorder your copy of Spoken For from Amazon or CBD.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Waterbrook Multnomah Blogging for Books Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

