Review of “Twirl”

0849947634.jpg

To be honest, I had never heard of Patsy Clairmont prior to having the opportunity to read and review her book, twirl: A Fresh Spin At Life.

In an unusual, yet refreshing way, Clairmont shares personal stories that encourage us to slow down, laugh, and approach life with a fresh perspective. Discussing everything from reading and rest, to writing and  bubble baths, Clairmont helps us discover how to step out of the endless, dizzying spin cycle of to-do lists and pressures, and embrace the beautiful, joyful, grace-filled life we were created to lead.

From the very first chapter, Clairmont touched my heart. God in His Providence, knew this was a book I needed to read now, as I struggle with being who God created me to be, rather than destroying myself, attempting to be what I perceive others wish me to be. Here’s what Clairmont wrote:

“I allowed a great deal of my worth to hang on other people’s opinions. And I often treated their opinions as my gospel, in that I allowed their assessments to govern my life… Sometimes growth can only be measured by where we’ve been, not by what others are doing… Remember there’s a difference between an opinion of man and a principle of God. Our more-ness is a direct result of His much-ness.”

As I read twirl, I laughed, I cried, I felt renewed! I would encourage anyone to read it who is feeling stressed, overwhelmed, or worn out. twirl is bright and cheerful, like a cup of coffee at your Grandma’s kitchen table, and I would give it an “A”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

