Review of “John Knox”

John-Knox

My first thought when I opened the package containing Simonetta Carr’s John Knox was “What a beautiful book!”

Beautiful covers are always wonderful, and I know some of us have a weakness for pretty books, (my Mom’s soft spot is for leather-bound books) but books, like people, are more about what is on the inside.

And Carr’s John Knox does not disappoint!

Easily understood by young readers, the book tells the life story of John Knox, from his early years to his death. Filled with illustrations, yet interesting enough for adult readers, John Knox will be a treasure for families to enjoy together!

For such an unassuming book, I was quite impressed by the amount of information contained in the pages, including a timeline of Knox’s life and the first four chapters of the Scots Confession of Faith. 

I am grateful to see such a great source of church history in easy-to-understand language, so that the stories retain their power, and are not dumbed-down.

A wonderful tool for Christian parents who desire to share the powerful story of John Knox with their children, I could not recommend Carr’s book more. I would give the book an “A”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Cross Focused Reviews Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

2 Comments

Filed under blog

2 responses to “Review of “John Knox”

  1. Pingback: John Knox – Christian Biographies For Young Readers Blog Tour | Cross Focused Reviews

  2. Pingback: Review of “Marie Durand” | the nerdy bookworm

Leave a Reply

