Review of “Wrecked”

404923

 

 

I first became familiar with Jeff Goins  last summer when he wrote a guest post over at Chatting At The Sky, one of my favorite blogs.

So when I had the opportunity to review his book, Wrecked, I was excited! But I didn’t quite know what I was getting myself into.

Wrecked is a wonderful book that is not only well-written, but challenging, as well. Not challenging in a hard-to-read way, but challenging in a life-changing way.

Throughout the book, as Goins told story after story of how God wrecks our complacency and replaces it with a passion for those around us, I was reminded of the story of Katie Davis. She used this language of how God “wrecked”  her life.

Just as our lives are changed when God calls us to Himself, Goins puts forward that when God wrecks our lives, breaks our hearts, we are changed– in a good way.

And isn’t that true? When our hearts are truly, deeply broken over something, we are called to action. We must act, we can no longer live comfortably and complacently.

Perhaps when your life is Wrecked, God will call you to move to Africa as a missionary, or to write books, or to serve at soup kitchen. God may break your heart for people across the world, across town, or across the street. But whoever they are, God breaks your heart, wrecks your world, in order to make His Name known, to show His Love.

I was inspired by Wrecked, and I found Goins’ style of writing to be captivating, as he is a persuasive storyteller. I would highly recommend Wrecked, particularly to young adults, as Goins writes with clarity and wisdom. I would give Wrecked an “A”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Moody Publishers Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

In celebration of The Nerdy Bookworm’s first anniversary, I am hosting a Giveaway of Katie Davis’ New York Times Bestselling book, “Kisses From Katie”. Click here to find out how to win a free copy!

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

