Review of “Restless”

Restless-Because-You-Were-Made-for-More-by-Jennie-Allen-666x1024

 

The very same day that I picked up a copy of Jennie Allen’s Anything on the bargain rack at my local Christian bookstore, I had the opportunity to review her new book Restless. And while I have not yet read Anything, I found myself unable to put down Restless. 

A book about dreams, calling, purpose, and bringing Glory to God, Restless touched my soul and gave me wings.

Through sharing her own personal life experiences, the stories of some of the people closest to her, and the Biblical account of the life of Joseph, Jennie encourages readers to take off the masks, face their fears, and embrace who God created us to be.

Using the analogy of “threads”, Restless helps you through the journey of identifying  your own gifts and passions, and how the darkest, most painful moments of our lives are often the moments God uses to shape us most.

There is no randomness in the Christian life. God works everything to the good of those who love Him (Romans 8:28), always. Even when it hurts, even when we can’t understand why, God is there, creating something beautiful, for our good, and His Glory.

Overall, I found Restless to be a Biblically-sound and enriching book, that encouraged me to run whole-heartedly after God. I would give the book an “A”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

 

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

