Review of “Prophet on the Run”

prophet_on_the_run

 

Jonah has long been one of my favorite books of the Bible, and one of my favorite books by Tullian Tchividjian is Surprised by Grace. So when I was given the opportunity to review a copy of Baruch Maoz’ commentary on the book of Jonah, I jumped at the chance.

It was not until I received Prophet on the Run that I realized that it was a “Devotional Commentary”. While certainly unique, I found Maoz’ approach to be extremely user-friendly. At the end of each chapter is a summary, prayer, and questions, and I found this to be wonderful as a companion to my daily Bible time.

Maoz’ approach to expounding on the book of Jonah is refreshingly simple, in that it points us to our own lives. How are we like Jonah? How are we like the people of Nineveh? What is God using to bring us to obedience?

Straight-forward, uncomplicated, and easy to understand, Prophet on the Run is a book I will rely on for many years to come. I would highly recommend it, and while it is wonderful for personal study of Scripture, I believe it would be also be a delightful guide for a group Bible Study.

I would give the book a “B”.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Cross Focused Reviews bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .

1 Comment

Filed under blog

One response to “Review of “Prophet on the Run”

  1. Pingback: Prophet on the Run Blog Tour | Cross Focused Reviews

Leave a Reply

