Review of “Mary Poppins”

marypoppins

I have many fond memories of watching Disney films with my Grandma, and one of my favorites was Mary Poppins. In the midst of all the fuss of the anniversary of the Disney film and the theatrical release of Saving Mr. Banks (which, unfortunately, I have not yet seen), I decided to finally pick up the book and read it.

I was very surprised to find that P.L. Travers actually wrote a series of books on the “practically perfect” Mary Poppins. 

“If you want to find Cherry-Tree Lane all you have to do is ask the Policeman at the cross-roads.”

I was  very torn as I read the book. It is very different from its film counterpart, but I really enjoy both, which is unusual for me. I typically enjoy books more than films, especially if they are significantly different. I suppose there is always a first time!

Julie-Andrews_Mary-Poppins-4

In Mary Poppins, we meet the Banks family, a family of four children who find themselves suddenly in need of a nanny, when all of a sudden a mysterious woman shows up to apply as a nanny.

Throughout the book, we follow the children, primarily Jane and Michael, as they experience amazing, yet curious, adventures with the wonderful nanny, Mary Poppins. 

“Mary Poppins is the only person I want in the world!”

Such a nanny has never been seen before: she chats with birds and dogs, hangs stars in the sky, and flies through the air with her umbrella. And while Mary Poppins is a fun, laughable novel, it is also a sweet and unforgettable look at the joys, tempest, and magic of growing up.

images-10

I found Mary Poppins to be an enjoyable and endearing novel that both children and adults will delight in. I would give the book a “B”.

Have you read the book? If so, what are your thoughts?

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

