Review of “The Christian Atheist: Believing in God but Living as If He Doesn’t Exist”

images-1

 

In his book, The Christian Atheist, Craig Groeschel addresses the many ways we as Christians live as though we do not even believe God exists.

Having previously read his book, Weird, I was familiar with Groeschel’s writing, and when I saw this book at my local library, I wanted to read it! I am so glad I did. I was personally convicted in many ways about the way I live– and how my life does not proclaim the Grace of God like it should.

“While others may love you today and abandon you tomorrow, God’s love never changes. And because of that, you will always be a valuable, significant individual.”

This was one of the main points in the book that grabbed my attention. I felt like God was shaking me by the shoulders, reminding me that I shouldn’t be searching for significance or approval from others– I already have it, in Him. He chose me! 

Because, ultimately, I am not living my life for anyone other than God. Really, I have an audience of One.

“Thank God, he’s not fair. He is just, but he is not fair.”

Groeschel goes on to cover topics such as prayer, pain, worry, and the Justice of God, all with his unique blend of humor, honesty, and Biblical truth.

The next chapter that really hit home for me was the chapter on forgiveness. In this chapter he recounts how his younger sister was molested for several years by her sixth-grade teacher, a family friend, and how he was consumed with bitterness towards this man who had betrayed and hurt his family. He went on to describe the work that God wrought in his hard so that he was able to forgive this man.

In the past few years, I have struggled with bitterness towards people, friends, who betrayed and hurt me. It is difficult to forgive, it is so easy to be bitter! And that was why one sentence really stuck in my brain:

“When we’re told to pray for those who’ve hurt us, I’m convinced our prayers are as much for ourselves as they are for the offender… My prayers for others may or may not change them. But my prayers always change me.”

I found The Christian Atheist both refreshing and convicting, and would highly recommend it! I would give The Christian Atheist an “A”.

Have you read The Christian Atheist? If so, what are your thoughts?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

